Home Page

The Computing Curriculum

The Computing Curriculum

Since 2014, schools have been introducing The New Curriculum, which saw changes in many areas, including ICT. ICT in schools is now known as ‘Computing’, and covers 4 specific areas: computer science, digital literacy, information technology and E-safety. In school we are introducing children to a variety of new programs and software such as: coding and algorithms, programming and new apps such as pivot stick animator and puppet pals.

We currently use Computing in lots of different ways, from communicating with parents via Twitter, to uploading work and images onto the individual year group blogs. We also use our Ipads externally, such as recounting our adventures from Howtown and Grinton.


Below is an overview of the computing curriculum, and what each year group is covering.

Here are a variety of websites for you to try at home, to see what we are covering in school.






Pivot Animator


BBC - Coding